Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 9th, 2009

Tonight we dined with friends.  

We met up with old neighbors, met new ones, as well visiting with my friend’s mum, whose family came from Cornwall.  She goes back regularly, so we always have a lot to chat about.  She shared a special recipe from her collection, which I can’t wait to try.  

Our menu was grilled lamb, stir fried green beans with seasoned pine nuts, a blend of cultivated and wild rices, and I brought a courgette salad (small zucchini in the US).  I have eaten this dish in Turkey, but have recently seen a lighter version of it in a article by Jamie Oliver.  I have to confess, some of my motivation for making this dish was that I wanted to play with my new mandoline again.  I want to slice everything at the moment. But, more importantly, it is a delicious salad. 

Thinly sliced Courgettes and Summer Squash

Thinly sliced Courgettes and Summer Squash

We all had a lovely, relaxed evening of good company, catching up on news, children playing, dogs chasing, and very good eating.  

Here’s the salad.

Tonight, I used a grill pan to grill the squash. I also grilled fresh, green onion, leaving out the more traditional garlic. I used a combination of green courgettes and yellow summer squash, leaving the skins on.  As I brushed the grill pan with olive oil, I didn’t add any extra once the squash cooled.  I used dried chilli flakes, which worked well, and just spooned on the lemon juice after arranging the squash ribbons on a platter. 

 

Courgette Salad with Green Onions, Mint, Chilli, Lemon, and Extra Virgin Olive Oil

 Adapted from Jamie Oliver’s Happy Days with the Naked Chef

Slice 6 courgettes and/or yellow summer squash lengthways, as thin as you can (I used my beloved, new mandoline). Grill on a red-hot griddle pan, or on the barbecue, until lightly charred on each side. Scatter the slices over a large plate, making sure you don’t sit them on top of each other otherwise they’ll steam and go limp. No one likes a limp courgette.  I put them on a layer of paper towel, to absorb any excess oil or moisture. Grill the onions at the same time. While they’re still warm, sprinkle with a pinch sea salt and freshly ground black pepper.  

Arrange the squash ribbons on a platter. 

Sprinkle with flaked red pepper, or deseeded, chopped fresh red pepper.  Both work well. 

Finely chopped, fresh garlic is also good with grilled summer squashes (although I left this out tonight).  

Coarsely chop and sprinkle a handful of fresh mint (dried mint would also work, although not my first choice),  drizzle with good extra virgin olive oil (if desired), and a squeeze of lemon. 

I knew it was good when there was none left.

 

Grilled Courgette Salad with Mint, Chilli, and Lemon

Grilled Courgette Salad with Mint, Chilli, and Lemon

 

Until tomorrow, 

Myrtle.

Read Full Post »

 

Just Peachy

Just Peachy

 

It’s official.  

Summer is here.  

I know it’s only May.  Early May.  

But, it is 102 degrees outside. No joke. 

And there are locally grown, organic peaches for sale.  

That says summer to me.  They are small, but they are very good.  

Support your local farms. 

Myrtle 

 

Read Full Post »

Perfect

 

Too perfect to eat

Too perfect to eat

 

Rushing through the market today,

I was stopped in my tracks by this beautiful, heirloom tomato.  

It is almost too perfect to eat.  

But, I’m sure I’ll change my mind in a day or two. 

M. 

 

Read Full Post »

 

Ravishing Radishes

Ravishing Radishes

 

I love radishes.  The pepperier the better.  I found these at a local market, and they were so pretty I had to bring them home.  They reminded me of the illustrations from Beatrix Potter’s Tale of Peter Rabbit

Peter enjoying Radishes

Peter enjoying Radishes

They were quite mild.  I had them with sliced cucumber, feta cheese, fresh bread, olives and a drizzle of good olive oil.  I love to eat a Turkish breakfast, with hot, black tea and lemon. 

Whilst looking at some rather attractive, purple radishes today, my local green grocer recommended a black radish. I’ve never had one, and am looking forward to trying it tomorrow. He said that they have a very strong bite.  Can’t wait. 

On a trip to New York last year, a beloved aunt made a small salad of radish greens.  I have been growing radishes, on and off, since childhood, yet never knew that the greens were edible, let alone delicious.  I would urge you to give it a try.  The greens need to be very fresh, obviously, and not too mature, or they will be bitter.  Dressed with good Extra Virgin Olive Oil and fresh Lemon Juice and salt, they were naturally peppery.  Delicious.  

Radishes, very good and very good for you.  

Let’s all eat more radishes. 

Myrtle.

Read Full Post »