Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 5th, 2009

Desert Bunny

 

Why did the bunny cross the road?

Why did the bunny cross the road?

 

Why did the bunny cross the road?  

To eat my grass, of course. 

I don’t mind.  

I just don’t like it when they try to swim in the pool. 

Myrtle.

 

Read Full Post »

 

Anna's Edible Onion Flower

Anna's Edible Onion Flower

 

I learned something new  on Sunday.  The tiny florets of the onion flower are edible. They have a mild onion flavour.  You just pluck out the florets as they open. My friends purchased this one at a Farmers’ Market in Phoenix on Saturday morning. They use the flowers in salads, but, I imagine they would taste good in many things. 

We like things that look good as well as taste good.  

Thanks Anna. 

Myrtle.

Read Full Post »

Obsession

 

Very Fresh Lemons

Lemons in the garden

 

I have been accused of being obsessed with lemons.  

If loving lemons is wrong, I don’t want to be right. 

Myrtle. 

Read Full Post »

The English revere strawberry season.  They cover their berries with fine, caster sugar, then eat them with lashing of cream. Delicious. Eton Mess is a spectacular concoction of fresh strawberries, pieces of meringue, and cream. Also, delicious. 

It is strawberry season here in the desert. The girls and I love them. Today I bought a kilo of berries for $2.44.  Yes, they had been reduced in price, but, they are still very good.  Too good to pass up.

 

Strawberry puree pops

Strawberry Puree Ice Pops

 

 

When I have a lot of strawberries to use up, and the children have had enough of eating them whole, or on cereal, or with ice cream, I pop them into the food processor for Strawberry Puree Ice Pops.  If the puree is a bit sour, I will add a touch of sugar, but, often even that isn’t necessary.  Just blend, taste, spoon into ice pop forms. The children love them.  

My mother’s father also loved strawberries. He bought them whenever he could.  Once, he came to our house on Long Island, for supper.  He arrived with an enormous box of fresh strawberries for dessert.  My mother put them into the refrigerator. 

Well, I knew that they were there.  I opened the refrigerator door.  They looked so pretty, and the smell was overwhelming. Dear Reader, I couldn’t help myself.  I had to have one. Just one.

But, of course, by suppertime, half of the box was gone, I had a tummy ache, and my family was cross. When they asked me about the missing strawberries, I apparently had nothing to say, other than it might have been the strawberry faery.  I was six years old. 

That was my nickname for many years after.  

There are worse crosses to bear. 

Myrtle.

 

P.S.  These strawberry lollies lasted less than 24 hours.  Making more as we speak.  Kids can’t get enough.

Read Full Post »